since 1989 Ecuador and Galapagos travel experts

picture from Ecuadorian landscape




South America



 Ecuador > Provinces

Ecuador provinces

Maria Susana Rivadeneira, Miss Ecuador 2004Ecuador is divided into 22 provinces: 10 located in the Inter-Andean Region (Sierra), 5 in the Coastal Region (Costa), 6 in the Amazon Region (Region Amazonica) and 1 on the Galapagos Islands (Archipielago de Colón). The provinces are the following:


Azuay is a province of Ecuador, created 25 June 1824. It encompasses an area of 7.700 km². It has protected areas such as El Cajas National Park and the city of Cuenca, an UNESCO World Heritage Site, Azuay is southern Ecuador’s most important tourist center. Moreover, Azuay is a great place to shop for high-quality handicrafts and partake in festive celebrations throughout the year. .


 It was founded by the Spanish in 1571. Located in the heart of the country, quaint Guaranda is the smallest provincial capital in the highlands. The province is divided in 7 cantons:  Caluma, Chillanes, Chimbo, Echeandia, Guaranda, Las Naves, San Miguel. The Carnival festivities of the area have gained fame throughout Ecuador.


Cañar is located some 36 km north of Azogues its capital, is home to Ecuador’s most important archaeological site Ingapirca. Ingapirca means `Wall of the Inca' and have been occupied by the native Cañari people for some 500 years. The province also has interesting indigenous markets and lakes. The climate here is relatively cool.


Carchi is a province in far north of the country on the border with Columbia. It belongs to Sierra region. Tulcan is the province's capital. The province is home to some of the nations most impressive protected areas, such as El Angel Reserve, and several interesting and colorful towns. One of its major attractions is Gruta de la Paz.


Cotopaxi volcanoCotopaxi is a province in central Ecuador in Sierra region. Latacunga (2,850m) is the capital of the province.

The Cotopaxi’s main attraction is Cotopaxi National Park.  Typical, curious markets like Pujili, Saquisilí and Latacunga can be found at Cotopaxi province.

Those are surrounded by Cotopaxi, the highest active volcano in the world and well known for climbing. Its name was given to a National Park. continues...

Ecuador provinces

Ecuador provinces
1 - 2 - 3 - 4

Bookmarks us

Ecuador travel forum

Your pictures from Ecuador

Ecuador & Galapagos cruises
Hotel Casa Quito
Filatelia Apart Hotel Quito

Discuss this page in our forum | Site map | About us |  Privacy policy | Contact us | Affiliate program | Advertising | List your business
About us - Copyright © 1996 - 2005 - - All rights reserved.