since 1989 Ecuador and Galapagos travel experts

picture from Ecuadorian coast




South America



 Ecuador > Provinces

Ecuador provinces


Ecuadorian beachEsmeraldas is northernmost province of Ecuador, in Costa region on border with Columbia. Capital is Esmeraldas. The Green Province, as it is called, is located on the country's northwestern coast. The northernmost of the coastal provinces, Esmeraldas is also the greenest, riddled with estuaries, mangroves, and flooded tropical forest. Its wild and remote inland areas, accessible only by canoe, make Esmeraldas the ideal staging ground for a river safari.

El Oro

El Oro is a province of Ecuador. It is named that way because of its gold production. The capital is Machala. It borders the Peruvian Tumbes Region on the west. Famous for its abundant production of high-quality bananas, El Oro is a primarily agriculture, commercial province and is home to one of the nations major ports, Puerto Bolivar.


Manabi, a province of Ecuador located in the west of the country, is one of the five forming the Coastal Region. The capital is Portoviejo. Manabi is known for its beautiful beaches, quaint fishing villages, commercial centers such as Manta, which is the country's second largest port, Bahia and Machalilla National Park, with its rich vegetation and varied species of fauna.


Guayaquil, EcuadorThis province was named for the Guayas River, which flows through the province. Its capital is Guayaquil, the largest city in Ecuador and its main port. The Guayas Province is home to Guayaquil, Ecuador's largest city and chief port. Guayas province has one of the country's most important ecosystems, the Guayaquil Gulf.

Los Rios

Babahoyo, Los Rios' capital, is flanked by two rivers, the San Pablo and the Caracol, which join to form the Babahoyo river which, in turn, flows into the Guayas River, eventually ending in the sea. Every year on October 12th, the region's farmers hold a traditional rodeo. This is typically coastal farmers' festivity is celebrated in various villages throughout Los Rios and Guayas.


The capital of Sucumbios is Nueva Loja also known as Lago Agrio. It is the fifth largest province in the country, with an area of 18,612 km².

Sucumbios is characterized by its humid, tropical climate. In addition to being home to some of the Amazon’s most impressive and expansive ecological reserves, such as Cuyabeno, with their incredible flora and fauna. continues...

Ecuador provinces

Ecuador provinces
1 - 2 - 3 - 4

Win a ticket to Galapagos!

Ecuador travel forum

Your pictures from Ecuador

Ecuador & Galapagos cruises
Hotel Casa Quito
Filatelia Apart Hotel Quito

Discuss this page in our forum | Site map | About us |  Privacy policy | Contact us | Affiliate program | Advertising | List your business
About us - Copyright © 1996 - 2005 - - All rights reserved.